White drives his train home at aQuellé Tour Durban

Arthus Lemos teaching the youngsters a thing or two
Rheeders wins, Van de Winkel grabs four trophies
Arthus Lemos teaching the youngsters a thing or two
Rheeders wins, Van de Winkel grabs four trophies

White drives his train home at aQuellé Tour Durban

Durban – Tyronne White showed his protégés how it is done as the veteran cycling coach led home a phalanx of team members in the aQuellé Tour Durban MTB powered by Cycle Lab on Saturday.

The 40km race, which started and finished near Cornubia Mall, was dominated by White and riders he coaches, and he led home a DriveTrain Academy clean-sweep of the top four positions. Josh Paul ended second, just over two minutes behind, with pre-race favourite and defending champion Daniel van der Watt third, and Luke Pretorius fourth. Deon Verwey completed the five-rider podium and was the only rider not wearing the distinctive green colours.

The women’s race was also a triumph for DriveTrain, with young Madison Bateson, riding the 40km for the first time after winning the 20km last year, produced the shock of the day. She edged out last year’s winner, Sandton City Cycle Nation’s Joanna Van De Winkel.

Van de Winkel was leading until she missed a turn marker and was never able to make up about three minutes she lost in the race to the finish.

White, and three youngsters – Paul, Van der Watt and Josh Johnson – made an early break before Van der Watt managed to eke out a small advantage. Johnson punctured, reducing the chasing trio to White and Paul, who managed to get ahead of the defending champion over the second half of the course.

Paul was not able to hold the pace of his coach in the race to the line and he ended up two minutes behind, with Van der Watt just over two minutes further back. Pretorius held off a chasing Verwey to keep the DriveTrain on track for their 1-2-3-4 sweep.

“It is such a nice race,” said White after crossing the line. “It is a hard race and a bit of a different kind of race because you are hard on the pedals the whole way. My average power for the ride is really high.”

In the trail run at the same venue, Ewoud Grobler and Nokukhanya Meyiwa proved too strong for their rivals in the 20km event and they wrote a small piece of history by winning the first event aQuellé Tour Durban Trail titles.

Both Grobler and Meyiwa emerged as relatively comfortable winners in the event which was included in the aQuellé Tour Durban weekend for the first time. Grobler beat Fazel Ally
and Siduduza Ntshayintshay for the victory, while Annie Dupre and Thandeka Ngetu claimed the lowers steps of the podium in the women’s race.

Sunday’s racing moves onto the tar with the main event, the 110km aQuellé Tour Durban road race, taking place predominantly on the M4 between Moses Mabhida Stadium and Mdloti.

A rush of late entries from a sprinkling of elite riders means the racing up front looks like being super quick. Josh Rheeders was one of the late entries and he will have to be watched closely by other pre-race favourites that include Michael Rowland, Cameron Wright, Deno van Heerden, Warren Moolman, Brett and Sean Yelland and William Piat from Mauritius.

The women’s race is likely to be dominated by three-time winner Van de Winkel who will be keen to make up for her shock defeat on Saturday.

The elite riders leave at 6.15am from Moses Mabhida and slower riders are likely to be finishing until 1pm at the same venue.

Full MTB & gravel results

Selected off-road results – Saturday
aQuellé Tour Durban MTB powered by Cycle Lab
MTB 40km
1 Tyronne White 01:20:39
2 Joshua Paul 01:22:56
3 Daniel Van Der Watt 01:25:20
4 Luke Braedon Pretorius 01:30:40
5 Deon Verwey 01:32:30

1 Madison Bateson 01:32:39
2 Joanna Van De Winkel 01:36:48
3 Jackie Church 01:58:21
4 Kylie Harborth 02:02:14
5 Michelle Forman 02:02:30

1 Siyabonga Khumalo 02:06:17
2 Peet Balfour 02:09:58
3 David Douglas 02:15:54
4 Wilhelm Tesnaar 02:21:14
5 Billy Paterson 02:23:27

1 Sandra Paterson 02:23:27
2 Stephani-Lauren Rowles 02:36:27
3 Sindy Singleton 02:59:34

MTB 20km
1 Asibonge Buleni 01:02:21
2 Adam Brandt 01:05:55
3 Brian Ntokozo Ngcoya 01:10:08
4 Aphelele Mavudla 01:10:46
5 Sphephelo Dlamini 01:10:48

1 Lezaan Gerber 01:13:36
2 Lindiwe Gumede 01:14:58
3 Colbi Chiesman 01:15:13
4 Kanyisa James 01:15:21
5 Rebecca Froneman 01:19:50

aQuellé Tour Durban Trail results
20km Men
1 Ewoud Grobler
2 Fazel Ally
3 Siduduza Ntshayintshay
4 Brett Campbell
5 Ismail Abdoolrahim

1 Nokukhanya Meyiwa
2 Annie Dupre
3 Thandeka Ngetu
4 Nicole van Metzinger
5 Nikita Goveia